Raku with Candone Wharton at Gaya Ceramic Arts Centre

December 20, 2013 § 4 Comments

In September 2013, Gaya hosted a workshop with Candone Wharton focusing on surface textures and raku firing. It was an engrossing experience and quite revelatory for me – I found that I love working with textures and pattern, and what better way to do it than with the batik stamps used here in batik production! Personally I love Candone’s work, so I let her work influence me in all its textural glory :)

Days 1 & 2: Tried making boxes like how Candone does. She creates a weave pattern entirely with practiced hands, using nothing but a cake decorating metal edge.

Image

Red Top Boxes

Image

Om Box

Day 3-6: Because I love to throw on the wheel, I worked with combining thrown forms with textured bits

Image

Pedestal Platters

Image

Bullet Vases

Image

Turban Pot!

Day 7: Went crazy with all the stamps in the studio and made this!

Image

And here’s a pic of me plucking pieces out of a piping hot kiln:

Image

You can see the fire from pieces smoking in the tray at the back!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Raku with Candone Wharton at Gaya Ceramic Arts Centre

  • kate says:

    Your pots look fantastic. I wonder what glaze you have used here? Such a beautiful colour. The patterned work looks wonderful. I hope Candone does another workshop as I would love to learn about texture. The walls behind the pots are amazing, a truly lovely setting.

    • inkypots says:

      Hi Kate! I hear you’ve signed up for more… And more and more workshops. Hope to be around when you’re here next :) the glaze – it’s Gayas new red raku glaze made w a stain. Also have a new black. Yes I hope candone comes again soon! Maybe you could rally the forces ;) and make it happen!

    • inkypots says:

      Hi Kate! I just heard from candone that she will be teaching another workshop at Gaya from 14-27 February 2015. If you would like to sign up or know more details, let me know and I will forward you her email :)

  • tiramisuzi says:

    You are amazing. Such beautiful work. Totally jealous of those fantastic reds too.❤️ Love

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Raku with Candone Wharton at Gaya Ceramic Arts Centre at Inkypots Blogs.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

