New Arrivals

January 21, 2009 § 5 Comments

Back from the kiln! Yayyy! I glazed and deposited a big batch of ‘bird’ containers and bowls, and picked up a fresh batch of newly fired ware. Mr Cheah, (keeper of the kiln and my pottery sifu) showed me how to brush aluminium silica (I think that’s the chemical) on the lips of lidded containers so they don’t stick together. He also has a new glaze colour which is labeled purple blue. We shall see how that turns out πŸ™‚ A quick preview of some stuff…

Wobbly Pot

Pod Plate Trio

Crazy Black Gold Glaze

Floating Petal Plate

Sleepy Porcupine (or hedghog?)

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to New Arrivals

  • honeyanddaisy says:

    i love that vase right at the top! if i wanted to learn, where can i go for lessons?

  • Jiawen / Inkypots says:

    Mr Cheah in Segambut! His place is called Touch of Clay and he has yearly exhibitions at Badan Warisan. Contact 017 eight-eight-one-two-two-six-five

  • Huey says:

    When I was in college right… I suck big time making pottery! lol! I’m not sure why but I’m just never really good at things that should appear 3-D.

  • Tracy/ Dust of Enchantment says:

    I like all your pottery work, especially the bird bowls. I am too lazy to have to go to a kiln so whatever that doesn’t air dry or cure in my oven, I don’t touch LOL

  • Jiawen / Inkypots says:

    huey! i have the same frustration with 2d – sometimes want to jab a pen through the paper to make it more real. i like being able to feel the things i make in my hands πŸ™‚

    tracy: thanks! it is a great bother to go to the kiln, i put it off for the longest time because it is FAR and a bumpy windy road away lol. but it is worth it to see how the clay changes from its soft, impermanent form into a strong object, sometimes functional until broken πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Arrivals at Inkypots Blogs.

meta

