Recycled Pottery: Orchid Pots

June 4, 2009 § 2 Comments

A ragtag buncha pots for some juvvie orchids

A ragtag buncha pots for some juvvie orchids

The studio is filling up with pots and odds and ends! It’s been 6 months since i started really using the pottery wheel here, and making is so fulfilling for me, I throw and throw and throw, so there is so much lying around. There are also many pots that have something or other wrong with them… a cracked bottom, too heavy, chips, yicky glaze bits… and I finally found something to do with them!

On visiting Sungai Buloh with Captain Karat last week, I chanced on a brood of baby orchids in wee pots. Now, these babies have new homes for their roots to grow into 🙂

Meet them one by one:

A blue spotted bowl with bad cracks at the bottom...

Baby Orchid #1: A blue spotted bowl with bad leaky cracks at the bottom...

One of my fave coffee cups got a chip in it...

Baby Orchid #2: One of my fave coffee cups got a chip in it...

The neti pot that was too heavy :)

Baby Orchid #3: The neti pot that was too heavy 🙂

Oooh and I cheated with this one. I actually made a proper plant pot for this privileged babe orchid.

Baby Orchid #4: Oooh and I cheated with this one. I actually made a proper plant pot for this privileged babe orchid.

The pots with holes at the bottom will definitely work. For those that do not have bottom holes (eek!), I’ll have to be careful not to overwater.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Recycled Pottery: Orchid Pots

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recycled Pottery: Orchid Pots at Inkypots Blogs.

meta

