What This Pothead Has Been Thinking

April 17, 2010 § 1 Comment

Having just been on a one-month sabbatical (6 months in Asian holiday terms – we just can’t stay away from WORK) some things are brewing in my braino. Foremost, where is all this potting going? What am I going to be doing in 5 years? Will pottery sustain me in Malaysia? Even more alarming, will I still have ideas and be able to grow as a potter? I see a lot of hobby potters, but only maybe two people in the country who make a living out of it. It’s tough making it as a teacher, it’s even tougher to make it as an artist.

Right now, I’m in a situation where my commercial work in advertising gives me the luxury of making pots purely for my own pleasure. I’d love to see my pots pay for rent, petrol and food though, and I’ve been cracking my head to see how to make it work.

Possibility 1: Start a ceramics business that runs in parallel interest. A symbiotic relationship, using the same materials but appealing to a broader target market (kids! teens! adults!). But I can’t elaborate further πŸ˜‰

Possibility 2: Get away from the city (lower living costs) and start a studio with residency programme (most fun!).

Possibility 3: Design and mass-manufacture a line of ceramic products. Marketing ensues.

The first two are the most appealing right now. Time to do some exploration. I am also thinking it is time to do a glazing course, and learn to fire on my own so I can stand on my own two feet as a potter. Maybe in Singapore… πŸ™‚

For now, etsy sales have been good – I manage to cover most of my costs, and I am grateful for the artistic growth, confidence and, of course, income this shop has provided me with. I am extra thankful for the support from all my buyers.

Have got to start selling locally too, soon! If you know of anyone with a suitable venue…Β  πŸ™‚

§ One Response to What This Pothead Has Been Thinking

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What This Pothead Has Been Thinking at Inkypots Blogs.

meta

