Sundial Ring and Tribal Wave Medallion

December 24, 2010 § 4 Comments

I’ve really taken the initiative to design my own pieces at class – it’s much more satisfying than copying the pieces shown to me. In a way, getting a ‘brief’, with certain skills to be learnt in each project, with its parameters, gets me to invent in ways that wouldn’t naturally occur to me. So my designs are much more complex than I’d instinctively make, but they work out in surprising ways. Like this ring… the original project had lots of decorative loops surrounding a bezel set stone. Instead, I decided to pare it down, offset the stone and etch in radiating lines. It’s not a piece I would have designed on paper – it grew organically with each step, making decisions and adjusting as I went along the process. It is an unusual piece that I am growing to love more and more!

And with the piece above, I took my inspiration for the shape from tribal amulets, and the surface decoration was stylized waves. It will be worn low, with a long chain necklace. So I’m done with Silversmithing Level 2… what’s next? 🙂

§ 4 Responses to Sundial Ring and Tribal Wave Medallion

  • preettysandhu says:

    i don’t know why…but they look like tits to me , the ring.
    Its beautiful and earthy , but something very sensual about it too! or should I have used ‘and’ instead of ‘but’.

  • Evelin says:

    it’s lovely! Can’t wait to see you make more 🙂

  • pei shan says:

    Hello there,

    Hello, I’m Pei Shan from http://www.soakrepublic.com, I stumble across your work from the internet and like what you are doing.
    I’m opening a lifestyle shop at Publika shopping mall – Solaris Dutamas next year, wonder if you are interested to venture into a shopping mall?

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    cheers,
    Pei Shan Hwong

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sundial Ring and Tribal Wave Medallion at Inkypots Blogs.

meta

